Welcome to Drugs Don't Work
ABOUT THE PROGRAM
Drugs Don’t Work (DDW) is a program of The Council on Alcohol and Drugs, Inc. DDW in Georgia is a partnership program of The Georgia Chamber of Commerce, the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation, the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities, Office of Prevention Services and Programs, and local chambers of commerce. The DDW program is the official drug-free workplace services provider of the state of Georgia as mandated by Georgia Law (OCGA 34-9-410). The nationally recognized workplace program helps businesses maintain healthy and productive workforces and receive a 7.5% discount on Workers Compensation Insurance.
- Receive a 7.5% discount on workers’ compensation insurance premiums. Save thousands of dollars every year.
- Cut workers’ compensation claims in half. Substance abusers have 300% higher medical costs and are 3.6 times more likely to injure themselves or a co-worker.
- Increase productivity and morale amongst employees. Drug and alcohol abusers are proven to be 1/3 less productive.
- Reduce absenteeism and employee turnover. Substance abusers are 2.5 times more likely to have absences of 8 or more days each year.
- Editable sample policies & forms
- Drug testing provider list
- Access to legal counsel contacts and policy consultation
- Monthly supervisor and employee training newsletters
- Assistance with proof of compliance requirements and state certification
As an added benefit to your Chamber Membership, let us help you on the path to a drug-free workplace. If you are already enrolled in the Drugs Don’t Work program and need assistance, please contact Paula Shiver at [email protected].
5 SIMPLE STEPS TO A DRUG-FREE WORKPLACE
1. IMPLEMENT A SUBSTANCE ABUSE POLICY.
Your company must have a substance abuse policy in place that meets all requirements of Georgia law. The policy must be signed by the president of the company and distributed to all employees. A sample policy can be provided for your reference.
2. DRUG TEST EMPLOYEES.
You do not have to drug test your entire workforce. State certification requires drug screens on new employees on and after the date the policy is implemented for the following occasions:
- Pre employment
- Post accident
- Reasonable suspicion (must show documentation of unacceptable work - performance)
- Post rehabilitation
Companies that opt to perform random drug screens must wait 60 days before drug testing existing employees and must follow guidelines for random testing found in the Rules and Guidelines of a Drug-Free Workplace handbook.
3. MAKE EMPLOYEE ASSISTANCE PROGRAMS ACCESSIBLE TO EMPLOYEES.
Make sure employees are aware of how to access employee assistance resources. Post a treatment provider list and/or other counseling resources on your company bulletin or break room. Your health insurance provider may already offer this service to employees under your health plan.
4. CONDUCT ONGOING EMPLOYEE AND SUPERVISOR EDUCATION.
One hour of employee training and one hour of supervisor training must be completed within the first 60 days of implementing a DDW policy. Employee training is ongoing throughout the year in the form of a monthly newsletter, distributed via e-mail by your local chamber. Supervisor training is ongoing throughout the year in the form of a bi-monthly newsletter (6 per year, distributed via e-mail by your local chamber.
5. APPLY FOR STATE CERTIFICATION. Once the first hour of training for employees and the first hour of training for supervisors is complete and the 60 day grace period has expired, on the 61st day, the application for state certification can be applied for. Your DDW coordinator is available to assist with the application process. Certification must be done on a yearly basis. Once you receive your state issued certificate, provide a copy to your local chamber and insurance provider to issue the 7.5% discount on your workers’ compensation insurance.